Super Zen Stickers

img_1748

I recently posted about Positive Behavior Stickers. As a follow up to that post, I wanted to share another way that I’ve used Avery label stickers. A few weeks ago, I taught a mini-ATC Zentangle lesson to my 3rd graders. I like to do “mini-ATC lessons” in between longer, multi-week projects.

To start the lesson, I introduced the word zen and explained that it is a form of meditation. I told students that sometimes when they create art they might feel “zen” when they are really focused and in the moment of what they are doing. Sometimes they might even forget about everything else around them!

I challenged students to create a Zentangle ATC by creating an intricate doodle inspired by the “Doodle & Noodle” challenge in the book Keys to Drawing with Imagination, by Bert Dodson and zentangle examples that I found on Pinterest. Students used pencils, thin and thick Sharpies and other drawing materials to add color. One of my classes got so into it that I started pointing out “Super Zen” students (students who were super quiet and super focused on their work).

Because so many students were so focused while they were working, I decided to acknowledge them with “Super Zen” stickers. I quickly made a page of Avery labels (it’s easy to copy and paste the text), printed them out and rewarded students with a sticker. One student even found a great spot to put her sticker so that her shirt read “Totally Super Zen Awesome.” 🙂

img_1755

Save

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.